Stuffed Mushrooms

What with February and the month of Valentine almost on it’s head, I think a romantic table setting is in order. Time she is a flying!

Table setting at Morrells Farm House, Johannesburg

Table setting at Morrells Farm House, Johannesburg

I bought a piece of Colby Cheese at Hillcrest Berry Orchard, Stellenbosch recently and had to read up about this gentle creamy cheese as I did not know it at all. It is very similar to cheddar but it does not undergo the cheddaring (I don’t even know if this is a word) process leaving it softer, moister and milder than cheddar. Perfect for what I had in mind.

Colby Cheese, Hillcrest Berry Orchard

Colby Cheese, Hillcrest Berry Orchard

Use:

Big brown mushrooms- top and tail them. The stems were so big that I diced and fried it separately in butter for garnishing.

Frozen creamed spinach or make your own

Onion

Feta cheese

Colby Cheese or any cheese of your choice

image

Fry onion in butter, mix in the thawed creamed spinach and heat through. Add feta and Colby cheese, salt and pepper to taste. Scoop into mushroom “shells” and sprinkle with the fried mushroom stems and more Colby cheese, of course. Bake in a warm oven until the mushrooms are cooked through and serve as a mains with salad or as a sides. I topped the lot with a bit of tomato relish for a bit of colour.

Stuffed mushrooms

Stuffed mushrooms

Feasting!

Kingklip and stuffed Mushrooms

Kingklip and stuffed Mushrooms

My one and only post( it seems) for the too busy February is being submitted to the Cheese Please! monthly because I discovered the new Colby Cheese…..just because!

image

Below random photo: My office

I am a keen supporter of designer Michael Chandler in Cape Town with his beautiful shop, Chandler House around the corner of mine. His phrenology vases light up my day in my office and I constantly fill them with all sorts of things. Funny how the facial expressions on the identical vases change depending on what I fill them with. The lady with the flower head looks so feminine compared with the nutty guy. Anything just not to see those files……as if…..

Flower head and picking brains?

Flower head and picking brains?

30 thoughts on “Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. Pingback: February’s Cheese, Please! Recipe Blog Challenge – Cheesy Romance | Fromage Homage

  2. The stuffed mushrooms! whats there not to like, I could eat it all. I also love your roses in the silverware – so pretty and chic. I also couldn’t help but notice the cheese wrapping, with raffia and sticker, they say we eat with our eyes.

    Like

  3. Pingback: February’s Cheese, Please! Challenge Round-Up – Cheesy Romance | Fromage Homage

  4. lovely, as usual you are posting an ingredient we don’t get here, I used to love the nuclear-induced supershrooms in the US, sold as portabello mushrooms, great for stuffing, like a steak but healthier, and vegetarian, but they don’t seem to have caught on here yet. Sadly, maybe I will lobby our local supermarket. So I will just look at your pics and drool.
    Oh and I LOVE the files, you appear to be a very tidy lady, or have you just hidden them behind the flowers and are hoping they will go away, or you will forget about them whichever comes first?

    Like

    • I hope you find some soon, I know how it feels to obsess about some food or another. Yes the files……, I am very neat but try my utmost best to place one lovely thing on that damn table to distract me from the sheer magnitude of the paper explosion!

      Like

Leave a comment